50th Anniversary Gala


50th Anniversary Gala


October 19, 2017

5:30 pm - 9:30 pm


Sheraton Grand Chicago

301 E. North Water St.

Sheraton Grand Chicago 301 E. North Water St. Chicago, IL 60611 United States






I cannot attend but would like to make a donation.

Fifty years ago, Sargent Shriver inspired us to believe that all Americans deserve the right to equal access to justice and opportunity. Today, we are the lawyers, community activists and allies across the country joined together as one of the nation’s leading advocates for the poor, giving voice to people living in poverty. Join us at our 50th anniversary gala to celebrate the legacy of Sarge and the advancement of the Sargent Shriver National Center on Poverty Law. 

Featured Performer

Hasan Minhaj

Hasan Minhaj is a comedian, actor, and writer. He is a senior correspondent on the award-winning program The Daily Show with Trevor Noah and he was the featured performer at the 2017 White House Correspondents’ Association Dinner. His critically acclaimed one man show, Homecoming King, debuted on Netflix this spring.

Sargent Shriver Equal Justice Award

Vanita Gupta

Vanita Gupta is president and CEO of The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights. She has been working to advance civil rights her entire career. Before joining The Leadership Conference in June 2017, Gupta served as Acting Assistant Attorney General and head of the U.S. Department of Justice’s Civil Rights Division. Appointed in October 2014 by President Barack Obama as the chief civil rights prosecutor for the United States, Gupta oversaw a wide range of criminal and civil enforcement efforts to ensure equal justice and protect equal opportunity for all during one of the most consequential periods for the division.

State Champion Award

Toni Preckwinkle

Cook County Board President Toni Preckwinkle has been a dedicated community leader for over two decades. She has worked with the Cook County Board of Commissioners, elected officials and county employees to implement major reform and reshape county government through fiscal responsibility, innovative leadership, transparency & accountability, and improved services. President Preckwinkle has developed a broad policy agenda—focusing on critical public safety reform, working to strengthen the county’s health care system, and increasing the capacity and capability of economic development efforts.

Corporate Partner Awards

  • Goldberg Kohn
  • Hughes Socol

Tickets are $500 for individuals and corporate sponsorship opportunities are still available.


Event Sponsors

Platinum Sponsor

Golden Sponsor

Silver Sponsors

Bronze Sponsors


  • Allstate Insurance Company
  • BMO Harris Bank
  • Bruce Simon & Ben Lazare
  • Dentons
  • Family Health Network
  • Google
  • McCalla Raymer Leibert Pierce LLC
  • PwC/Brenda Russell
  • Quarles & Brady/Janice Rodgers
  • Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom
  • Weinberg/Newton Foundation


  • AFSCME Council 31
  • Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children's Hospital of Chicago
  • Debbie & David Chizewer
  • Block Steel
  • Crown Family Philanthropies
  • Elizabeth Gracie
  • Grand Victoria Foundation
  • Goldberg Kohn
  • Humana
  • Illinois Health and Hospital Association
  • Jenner & Block
  • McCormick Foundation
  • Miner, Barnhill & Galland
  • O'Keefe Lyons & Hynes, LLC
  • Polk Bros. Foundation
  • Roseland Community Hospital
  • Catherine Robb
  • Sinai Health Systems

Official Airline

Honorary Host Committee

  • Newton & Jo Minow
  • Christopher & Sheila Kennedy
  • Maria Shriver
  • Tim Shriver
  • Jeanne & Mark Shriver
  • Bobby Shriver

Host Committee Co-Chairs

  • Jacob Contreras
  • Janice Rodgers

Host Committee

  • Joseph Antolin
  • David & Susan Axelrod
  • David & Debbie Chizewer
  • Gregory Dallaire
  • Harry Rosenberg & Rachel Dvorken
  • Steven Eppler-Epstein
  • Sunny Fischer
  • Michael Golden
  • Elizabeth Gracie
  • Graham Grady
  • Divida Gude
  • Damion Heron
  • Case Hoogendoorn
  • Hon. James Houlihan
  • Earl Johnson
  • Ed & Ethel Klein
  • Fred Klein
  • Chastity Lord
  • Lisa Marsh Ryerson
  • Rita McLennon
  • Bill & Gayle Meyers
  • Judd Miner
  • Betty Musburger
  • David Weinberg & Jerry Newton
  • Mike & Stephanie Oettinger
  • Denis Pierce
  • Vincent Robinson & Preston Powell
  • Catherine Robb
  • Paul & Bettylu Saltzman
  • Daniel Schlessinger
  • Eugene & Faith Schoon
  • Jill Schuker
  • Tim Silard
  • Fred & Nikki Stein
  • Steven Tomashefsky
  • Raj Vohra
  • AJ Wilhelmi